Tuesday, October 1, 2013

CFCL Owners of 1994

Picture from left:  Dave Holian (David's Ruffins), Rich Bentel (Dem Rebels), Matt Bentel (DoorMatts), Paul Zeledon (and eventual CFCL Champion Da Paul Meisters), Eric Lamb (Lambchops), Kelly Barone (Six Packs), Dave Goetz (ForGoetzMeNots), Tom Clark (Clark Kents).  Not pictured on the right: David Mahlan (David's Copperfields).

1994 was supposed to be the first time ever the CFCL had ten owners.  In 1993 (as you will see next week) we had eight owners.  Those eight had all committed to returning.  In addition FINALLY we were able to convince Rebels cousin Matt (DoorMatts) to join the league.  We had also been able to entice one of the Original 6 owners (and first ever CFCL Champion) back - Dave Goetz (ForGoetzMeNots).  Then on Roster Freeze Day, Pat McGuire showed his true colors.  Rather than turn in his keepers for the draft he sent a note saying, effectively, "I'm out".  The CFCL rolled on, probably the better for it, with nine owners.

Da Paul Meisters captured their first (and only) CFCL crown in just their third year of existence.

Dave Holian (David's Ruffins) opened his home to the CFCL, allowing us to draft in his spacious and comfortable basement.

No comments:

Post a Comment