Wednesday, July 17, 2013

The CFCL Owners of 2005

Seated [from left]: Rich Bentel (Dem Rebels), Kenn Ruby (Kenndoza Line); Standing: Matt Grage (Hot Sludge Sundae), Eric Lamb (Lambchops), Steve Olson (Steve's Stones), Jason Grey (Reservoir Dogs), Paul Zeledon (Da Paul Meisters), Nick Hansen (Nick's Picts), Matt Bentel (DoorMatts), Teddy Scott (Teddy's Splendid Splinters), David Mahlan (eventual 2005 CFCL Champion David's Copperfields).  Not pictured, but represented by the skinny white microphone in the center of the table - Dave Holian (David's Ruffins).

As with all seasons, there are some interesting items.  Most notably, this would be the 11th and final CFCL title for David's Copperfields.  This was the last season for the Resevoir Dogs.  They would resign after four seasons in the CFCL.  Eventually they would end up doing some scouting work for the Tampa Bay Rays.

2005 was also the end of a failed two year experiment wherein Matt Grage named his team Hot Sludge Sundae (don't ask, don't ask).  Speaking of name changes, that can only explain the insane look and gesture of Kenn Ruby.  You'll notice that DunnKenn is not in the picture.  But Kenn did rename his team "Kenndoza Line", oozing with baseball reference.  So he must have been extra proud of his franchise name to elicit such an expression.  Either that or he knew he was about to nail down his first "money finish" as he ended up coming in third in 2005.

Once again we were drafting in the corporate opulence of Oak Brook.  That allowed us all sorts of technological opportunites, including having the Ruffins draft remotely from North Carolina.  We communicated with him via microphone and NetMeeting on the computer.

No comments:

Post a Comment